Wayne County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wayne County, West Virginia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Wayne County


Guide to Wayne County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Wayne County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Wayne County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 18, 1842
County Seat Wayne
Courthouse
Address Wayne County Courthouse
700 Hendricks Street
Wayne, WV 25570
Phone: 304-272-6371
Wayne County Website


County Information


Wayne County, West Virginia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1853 1850 1842 1843


County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1853
Marriage records from 1854
Probate and Land Records[1]

History

Anthony Wayne

The county is named after Revolutionary War General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796).[2]

Parent County

1842--Wayne County was created 18 January 1842 from Cabell County.
County seat: Wayne [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1921 Fire burned the courthouse in 1921, but no records were lost.


Places / Localities

Wayne Count

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WVGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WVGenWeb Archives
WVTombstone Project
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Wayne County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


Church

Court

Land

Wayne County, Transactions West Virginia Deeds

Local Histories

West Virginia Archives

A Brief History of Buffalo Creek Community, Wayne County ,West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1925. (On-line version)
Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: B78.
Comstock, Jim. Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West Virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973.
975.4003 H259 v.7.
Darby, Erasmus Foster. App Queen Day: Being an Eyewitness Account of How This Great Schoolmaster is Honored Each Year in Wayne County, West Virginia. Chillicothe, Ohio, Dave Webb, 1955.
398.22 D24a Pam.
_________________. Spot the Great Red Nosed Hound of Sugar Tree Hollow. Chillicothe, Ohio, Dave Webb, 1954. 636.7 D34s Pam.
Kirby, Wesley D. History of Wayne Community Wayne County West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1926. (On-line version)
Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: K5. 
McClintic, Elizabeth Knight. Ceredo: An Experiment in Colonization. s. l., n. p., 1937. 917.5447 M126. 
Osborn, Lucian W. History of East Lynn Community Wayne County West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1927. (On-line version)Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: O8.
A Pictorial History of Wayne County. Kenova, West Virginia, Wayne County Historical Publications Inc., 1988. 975.447 W359p.
Taylor, Mildred. History of Wayne County, West Virginia. Wayne, West Virginia, n. p., 1963. 975.447 T244.
Thomas C. W.History of Ceredo and Kenova. s. l., n. p., @1958.  975.447 T482 Pam.
Varney, Carl E. Birch Bark and Sassafras Tea. Crum, West Virginia, @1976. 917.5447 V318.
Williams, John Alexander. "A Note and Documents on the Wayne County Shooting Incident During the Election Campaign of 1894." West Virginia History, Charleston, West Virginia, Department of Archives and History, 1971-72.  Arc 1. 4:33.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Wayne County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wayne County, West Virginia Genealogy:

Union

- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Battery B Light Artillery.

Confederate

- 1st Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Companies A, C, and G.
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry) (Confederate). Company H.
- 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company G.[4]
- 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Fairview Rifle Guards aka Sandy Rangers).[5]
- 16th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies E, G, and H.[6]
- 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company A (Witcher's Company Virginia Mounted Rifles).[7]
- 45th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (K).[8]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Wayne County, West Virginia Will Books 1843 - 1968

West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

. Includes marriages 1854-1862, 1865-1970 - free.

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

  Wayne County, West Virginia Public Library

Ceredo-Kenova Memorial Public Library

Fort Gay Public Library

Wayne County Geenalgoical and Historical Society

Cabell - Wayne County Historical Society PO Box 9412 Huntinton, WV 25704

KYOWVA Genealogical Society P O Box 1254 Huntington, WV 25715

Kentucky Ohio West Virginia Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wayne County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Anthony Wayne," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  5. Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
  6. Jack L. Dickinson, 16th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 60.
  7. Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
  8. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 45th Battalion Virginia Infantry, Smith and Count's Battalions of Partisan Rangers (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 102.

Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Wayne_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=2775043"