Weardale St John, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Weardale St John, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

[England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Weardale St John, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Weardale St John, Durham
200px
fckLR
Type Ecclesiastical Parish fckLR
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred DarlingtonfckLR
County DurhamfckLR
Poor Law Union WeardalefckLR
Registration District WeardalefckLR
Records begin
Parish registers: 1788fckLR
Bishop's Transcripts: 1774fckLR
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Chapelry fckLR
Peculiar fckLR
Parish fckLR
Rural Deanery DarlingtonfckLR
Archdeaconry fckLR
Diocese DurhamfckLR
Province YorkfckLR
Archdeaconries fckLR
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)fckLR
Archdeaconry Court fckLR
Bishops Court fckLR
Prerogative Court fckLR
Location of Archive
Durham Record OfficefckLR

Parish History

WEARDALE, ST. JOHN, or St. John's Chapel, a chapelry, in the parish of Stanhope, union of Weardale, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 7 miles (W. N. W.) from the village of Stanhope. There are several places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists in the vicinity. [1]

Additional information: Weardale St John was a former chapelry Stanhope Ancient Parish and created a parish in 1817.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/264 dates June 1771-1812 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The transcripts are included in Stanhope Durham transcripts reference DDR/EA/PBT/2/239 for the years 1762-1833.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1788-1994 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SJ).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.


Poor Law Unions

Weardale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Weardale St John on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.