Webster County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Webster County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Webster County

Guide to Webster County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Webster County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 3, 1855
County Seat Marshfield
Courthouse
MissouriWebsterCourthouse.jpg
Address Webster County Courthouse
100 Crittenden Street
Marshfield, MO 65706
Phone: 417.468.2223
Webster County Website


County Information

Webster County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1855 1883 1855 1854 1856

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1893 and death records 1883-1887; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Probate Judge has probate records; County Recorder (contact info below) has marriage and land records.[2]

Webster County Recorder
PO Box 546
101 S Crittenden, Rm 16
Marshfield, MO 65706
Phone: (417) 859-5882
Fax: (417) 468-3843
Email: recorder@webstercountymo.gov

History

Parent County

1855 Webster County was created 3 March 1855 from Greene and Wright Counties. County seat: Marshfield [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Brief History

Webster County History

Record Loss

1863 Courthouse was burned.
1880 Courthouse was damaged by a tornado on April 18, 1880, with a minor record loss.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

These are incorporated cities in Webster County, Missouri:
Diggins
Fordland
Marshfield
NIagua
Rogersville
Seymour

Neighboring Counties

Christian  • Dallas  • Douglas  • Greene  • Laclede  • Wright

Wright CountyTexas CountyPulaski CountyDallas CountyPolk CountySt. Clair CountyCedar CountyGreene CountyLawrence CountyBarry CountyStone CountyDade CountyChristian CountyTaney CountyDouglas CountyOzark CountyHickory CountyCamden CountyLaclede CountyWebster CountyMOWebster.JPG

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Webster County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

The Webster County Recorder compiles and maintains all county land records. The County Recorder will process land document requests via email or phone and will only mail those copies. There is a nominal fee to process record requests.

Webster County Recorder Contact Information: County Courthouse

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Webster County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Laclede, Camden, Dallas, Webster, Wright, Texas, Pulaski, Phelps and Dent counties, Missouri. Goodspeed. 1889.  Missouri Digital Heritage
  • George, Floy Watters. History of Webster County, 1855-1955. [Springfield, Mo. : Roberts, 1956?].
  • A History of Webster County : taken from History of Missouri - 1889 commemorating the celebration of Webster County's centennial. Seymour, Missouri : Webster County Citizen, 1955.

Maps

Mowebster.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Webster County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Webster County, Missouri:
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company I
- 6th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Webster County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


The State Historical Society of Missouri (SHSM) Newspaper Collection is the best resource for finding local newspaper articles, including obituaries.  They have digitized all local newspapers across all years and all printings from Webster County.  When you call a local paper (The Marshfield Mail is the oldest running paper in Webster County), they will refer you to this collection.  The archives in the local papers are stored away and difficult to access.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages

The Webster County Recorder maintains all County Marriage records.  The County Recorder will respond to email and phone calls, but records will only be mailed to requestors.

The County is the repository for recorded Marriage Records until 1910.  It is important to note that some marriages may have occured in Christian and Wright Counties given the proximity of border cities to those counties.

Webster County Recorder Contact Information: County Courthouse

Online Records

Deaths

Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910. The database includes all counties and will allow you to search by county. Webster County appears to have had slow adoption to the 1910 state law requirement as the records are minimal in the earlier years of the period.

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society

  • Webster County Historical Society
    219 South Clay
    Marshfield, MO 65706
    Phone: 417-468-7407

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Webster County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Webster County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Webster Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Webster County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Webster County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Webster County, Missouri. Page 407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.