Weisslingen parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Weisslingen parish

Guide to Weisslingen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Weisslingen

Brauerei
Dettenried
Feld bei Neschwil
Feld bei Weisslingen
Frohacker
Himmelreich

Hünegg
Lendikon
Maienbühl
Moos
Mühle
Neschwil

Schwemmenrüti
Schwendi
Segel
Theilingen
Tobel
Weisslingen

Surrounding Parishes

Illnau
Kyburg
Russikon
Wildberg
Zell

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Weisslingen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 291
1637 1185142 1 435
1640 1185144 2 165
1643 1185146 2 33
1646 1185148 1 545
1663 1185179 2 317
1670 1185154 2 141
1678 1185158 1 239
1682 1185159 2 235
1689 1185163 2 621
1700 1185167 1 1169
1710 1185169 2 601

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Weisslingen families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Weisslingen belongs to the Illnau-Effretikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Stadtverwaltung Illnau-Effretikon
Zivilstandsamt, 4 OG Stadthaus
Märtplatz 29
CH-8307 Effretikon

Tel: +41 52 354 24 15

email: zivilstandsamt@ilef.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Weisslingen prior to 1875:

Aeppli (1823, from
    Wildberg)
Andres
Bär
Bachofner
Baumann
Bollmann
Bölsterli
Bosshard
Bünzli
Burri
Frei
Furrer (1826, from
    Russikon)

Gähweiler
Greutert
Grimm
Gross (1820, from
    Illnau)
Gubler
Gut
Heider
Herter (1859, from
    Germany)
Homberger (extinct)
Isler
Jucker
Kägi

Keller
Kübler (1784
Lätsch (1771, from
    Illnau)
Meili
Meili (1840, from
    Russikon)
Nüssli
Ott
Peter
Reifer
Richter
Rüegg (1809)
Rümmeli

Schellenberg
Schenkel
Schlumpf
Schoch
Sieber (1804)
Spörri
Stahel (1769)
Steiner
Weber
Weiss
Winkler
Wintsch
Zehnder
Zimmermann

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland