Welbeck, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: Welbeck, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1893|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
WELBECK, an extra-parochial liberty, in the Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Worksop. 
Welbeck and neighbour Woodhouse Hall, Nottinghamshire are both extra parochial areas in the Worksop area of Nottinghmshire. They both form part of the county boundary with neighbouring Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire and Whitwell, Derbyshire
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
In view of the etra parochial areas it is advisable to search neighbouring parishes, Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert, Nottinghamshire and the subsequent Worksop parishes being most likely to contain events.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Welbeck
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
1801 Census - Welbeck Abbey. Census of Welbeck Abbey taken on 10 March 1801, showing given name, and surname of both male and female each household. This was done for taking an account of the population of Great Britian. Taken from Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR DD4P/68/74, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 95, page 8, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 498-499. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..