Welford, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Welford, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Welford, Warwickshire
Welford on Avon St Peter Warwickshire contributor Dave Bushell.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway; Deerhurst
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

WELFORD (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Stratford-upon-Avon, partly in the Stratford division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, but chiefly in the Upper division of the hundred of Deerhurst, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Stratford. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans. Welford is an ancient ecclesiastical parish partly in the county of Gloucester and partly in the county of Warwick.[1]

Until 1931 Welford-on-Avon was in Gloucestershire (as part of the rural district of Marston Sicca) and was, until 1974, part of Stratford-upon-Avon Rural District since then it is in the district of Stratford-on-Avon in the county of Warwickshire.

The village sits within a bend of the River Avon, on the south bank. It has the tallest maypole in England (at 65 feet / 20 metres). It used to be wooden but was replaced by an aluminium pole after a lightning strike
> For more information and records see Welford, Gloucestershire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welford, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Welford, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1561-1812 1561-1812 1561-1812 1561-1812 1561-1812 1561-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464169.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 498-499. Date accessed: 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.