Wellenstein Commune, Luxembourg Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Luxembourg Wiki Topics
Flag of Luxembourg.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Luxembourg Background
Local Research Resources
Luxembourg
Grevenmacher District
Remich Canton
Wellenstein Commune
Wellenstein
Wellesteen Commune
Coat of arms of Wellenstein
Location of Wellenstein in Luxembourg
Administration
Country Luxembourg
District (Dark grey) Grevenmacher
Canton (Dark red) Remich
Commune (Orange) Wellenstein
List of communes of Luxembourg

Guide to Wellenstein Commune ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Most of your genealogical research for Wellenstein, Luxembourg will be in three main record types: civil registration, church records, and census records. This article will teach you methods for locating and searching these three record groups. Wellenstein was merged with Schengen in 2011.

Parishes / Villages

  • Bech-Kleinmacher
  • Schwebsange

Civil Registration

  • Civil registration records are government records of births, marriages, and deaths, as opposed to church records, which were the most common records of those events for some centuries previous.
  • Dates: In Luxembourg, registering births, marriages, and deaths began in 1797.
  • Contents: For detailed descriptions of the information you might find in each record, see Luxembourg Civil Registration
  • Language: French, German.
  • Accessing the records: Civil registration records were and are kept at the local registrar’s office in each town or city. A copy of each record is sent to the Administration Communale in Luxembourg City..

1. Online Digital Records for Civil Registration

For many communes in Luxembourg, digital copies of civil registration can be searched online:

2. Microfilm Copies of Civil Registration Records Searched at a Family History Center

Civil registration records for Wellenstein are microfilmed and held in the collection of the Family History Library. These microfilms may be viewed at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Wellenstein, Luxembourg.
b. Click on "Civil Registration" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
c. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor. Naissances=Births. Mariages=Marriages. Décès=Deaths. Sépultures=Burials. Tables décennales=indexes by decade.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the record title. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm. The microfilm icon indicates it is only available on microfilm and can be viewed at the Family History Library and some family history centers.

3. Writing for Civil Registration Certificates

  • If the records are not online or microfilmed, civil registration records can be obtained by writing to the local civil registry. This is particularly necessary for more recent records. Recent records are covered by privacy laws, so they are not released for microfilm or online. But relatives are allowed to request them for genealogy.
  • One copy was kept by the local registry office. A duplicate record was sent to the Administration Communale in Luxembourg City.
  • To request records,use these addresses:

Local Civil Registry Office
Try This First

Administration Communale
If your request is unsuccessful,
search for duplicate records filed here:

Monsieur l'officier de l'état-civil
Mairie de Schengen
L-5444 Schengen
Luxembourg
Administration Communale

Hôtel de Ville – Ville de Luxembourg

État-Civil

42 Place Guillaume

L-2090 Luxembourg

Luxembourg

Help Writing Requests in French

Requests should be written in French. You can successfully write in French using this French Letter Writing Guide.

Church Records or Parish Registers

  • Parish registers are vital records kept by the clergy. They include records of christenings (baptisms), marriages, and deaths (burials).
  • Church records are crucial for research before the civil government started keeping vital records, which began in 1797.
  • In 1797 when the official état civil (civil registration) was introduced, a French order required that the priests turn their parish registers over to the communities (civil jurisdiction). But the clergy, mistreated by the French regime, obeyed this order only partially. Thus, beginning with that date, part of the registers were deposited with the local civil government (communes) and part of them remained in the hands of the clergy.

1. Online Digital Church Records

Schwebsingen/Schwebsange is a parish in Wellenstein commune.

2. Microfilm Copies of Church Records Searched at a Family History Center

Records for Wellenstein are microfilmed and held in the collection of the Family History Library. These microfilms may be viewed at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Wellenstein, Luxembourg. See also, records for Schwebsingen.
b. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
c. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor. Baptêmes=Baptisms. Mariages=Marriages. Sépultures=burials.
d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm. The microfilm icon indicates it is only available on microfilm and can be viewed at the Family History Library and some family history centers.

3. Requesting Records From the National Archives

Archives of Luxembourg (Archives de Nationales Luxembourg) has collections of parish registers and can advise you on records that are still retained by the local parish. This is where you will write for more recent records--those for events since the end of the digitized records coverage (about 1923) up to the present day. Their Genealogical Research FAQ explains in detail how to request and pay for searches and copies of records.

Census Records (Recensements)

Census records list the names of each member of a family and show ages and other valuable information for linking families. Earlier censuses give names of heads of families and their children. Later censuses give ages or birth dates, places of residence, civil status, occupation, etc. The are especially useful for sorting children unto families, when a village has several families with the same father's name.

Online

Search Strategy

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.


Learning to Read Enough French or German to Do Genealogy

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French and German to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records


Here are some resources for learning to read German records.

German Genealogical Word List
German Handwriting.
  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:

This converter will show you how any phrase or name might look in German script:

  • Kurrentschrift Converter (enter German genealogical word, click on "convert", view your word in Kurrentschrift (Gothic handwriting)

Latin Records

Records of the Catholic church will usually be written in Latin:


Census

1843-1900. The census was taken approximately every three years and includes all members of the household. Includes places, names, ages (sometimes a full birth date), professions, genders and whether married, single or widowed. Sometimes it gives nationality, religion, place of birth, and position in the family. Beginning in 1861 includes alphabetical list of names. Text in French and German.

Year Communes #s FamilySearch Catalog Film #
1843 communes, no. 3 2398743
1843 communes, no. 1 2398744
1846 communes, no. 3 2398793
1846 communes, no. 1 2398794
1847 communes, no. 4 2399244
1847 communes, no. 1 2399245
1849 communes, no. 4 2400098
1849 communes, no. 1 2400099
1851 communes, no. 2 2400153
1852 communes, no.3 2400207
1855 communes, no. 3 2401166
1858 communes, no. 4 2401224
1858 communes, no. 1 2401235
1861 communes, no. 2 2401282
1864 communes, no. 3 2406132
1864 communes, no. 1 2406141
1867 communes, no. 2 2406224
1871 communes, no. 2 2412648
1871 communes, no. 1 2412649
1875 communes, no. 2 2412777
1875 communes, no. 1 2412778
1880 communes, no. 2 2419241
1880 communes, no. 1 2419242
1885 communes, no. 2 2424478
1885 communes, no. 1 2424479
1887 communes, no. 2 2425414
1887 communes, no. 1 2425415
1890 communes, no. 2 2426459
1890 communes, no. 1 2426460
1895 communes, no. 2 2431136
1895 communes, no. 1 2431137
1900 communes, no. 2 2431321
1900 communes, no. 1 2431322

Church History and Records

French Empire Parish registers

Lenningen parish
1808-1810
Roman Catholic parish registers; Text in French
Original records at les archives de l'Evêché de Metz, France

Record Type Years FamilySearch Catalog Film #
baptêmes 1808-1810 1351272 Item 5
mariages 1808-1810 1351272 Item 5
sépultures 1808-1810 1351272 Item 5

Civil Registration

Births, marriages, and deaths from the civil registration of Wellenstein, Luxembourg. Includes annual and ten-year indexes. Includes Bech-Kleinmacher and Schwebsingen. For years 1793-1795, see parish registers. Text alternates between French and German.

Record Type Years FamilySearch Catalog Film #
Tables décennales 1802-1892 1792167 Item 3
Tables décennales 1893-1902 1922579 Item 14
Tables décennales 1903-1922 2395428
Naissances 1796-1876 1792168
Naissances 1877-1890 1792194
Naissances 1891-1894 1922579 Item 15
Naissances 1895-1941 2395428
Mariages 1796-1890 1792194
Mariages 1891-1894 1922579 Item 15
Mariages 1895-1912 2395430
Mariages 1913-1941 2395429
Décès 1796-1838 1792194
Décès 1839-1890 1792195 Item 1
Décès 1891-1894 1922579 Item 15
Décès 1895-1941 2395429