Welsh Bicknor, Herefordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Herefordshire
Herefordshire Parishes
Welsh Bicknor

Guide to Welsh Bicknor, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welsh Bicknor, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wormelow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Monmouth
Registration District Monmouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1600
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History

BICKNOR (Welsh), a parish in the district of Monmouth and county of Hereford. The church was rebuilt in 1859. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welsh Bicknor, Herefordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
Welsh Bicknor, Herefordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1699-2000 1699-1831, 1851-1965 1699-2001

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Welsh Bicknor

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Welsh Bicknor

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Accessed and adapted 11 June 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.