Welshampton, Shropshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Welshampton, Shropshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Welshampton, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welshampton, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pimhill
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Ellesmere
Registration District Ellesmere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1713
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ellesmere
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Ellesmere
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Parish History

HAMPTON, WELSH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Ellesmere, hundred of Pimhill, N. division of Salop, 2¾ miles (E. by N.) from Ellesmere.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welshampton, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Welshampton, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1636-1856 1653-1836

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1636-1856 Marr 1636-1836 Bur 1636- 1856

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474588.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 391-396. Date accessed: 11 June 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.