Welton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Welton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Sculcoates|
|Parish registers: 1713|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Durham within the Jurisdiction of Howden and Howdenshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
WELTON (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Sculcoates, wapentake of Howdenshire, E. riding of York; containing the chapelry of Melton, 4 miles (S. E.) from South Cave, and 10 (W. by S.) from Hull. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Welton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|WELTON PARISH (1723) Online Records|
|| 1724-1844, 1861, 1866
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Welton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Welton page.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1713.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 506-509. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.