Wembdon, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wembdon, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Wembdon, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wembdon, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridgwater; North Petherton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1665
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgwater
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

WEMBDON (St. George), a parish, in the union of Bridgwater, hundred of North Petherton, W. division of the county of Somerset, 1½ mile (N. W.) from Bridgwater.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wembdon, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[10]
WEMBDON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1665-1812 1665-1812 1665-1753 1665-1753 1665-1812 1665-1812
FREG 1685-1860
1685-1836
1684-1855
JOIN
1685-1836

MARR
1676-1732

NBI

1673-1858
WEST 1685-1860
1685-1836
1684-1855

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474602.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Wembdon/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed and adapted: 26 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  8. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  10. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 22 October 2013.