West Challow, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from West Challow, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Challow

Guide to West Challow, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Challow, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kintbury Eagle
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Letcombe Regis
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

CHALLOW, WEST, a chapelry, in the parish of Letcomb Regis, union of Wantage, hundred of Kintbury-Eagle, county of Berks, 2 miles (W. N. W.) from Wantage. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Challow, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
West Challow, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

BIVRI 1607-1836
1612-1835 (gaps)

IGI 1653-1812
1654-1809, 1812-1836

Non-Conformist Churches

Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


West Challow a Township and chapelry in the parish of Letcombe Regis in GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.