West Grimstead, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from West Grimstead, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Grimstead

Guide to West Grimstead, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Grimstead, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Alderbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1717
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

GRIMSTEAD, WEST, a parish, in the union and hundred of Alderbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of the county of Wiltshire, 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Salisbury. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Grimstead parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1622-1910 (gaps)
1622-1905 (gaps)

FMP 1500s-1800s

NIM 1622-1840

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 340-343 Date accessed: 21 Octber 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.