West Ham, Essex Genealogy
Guide to West Ham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Ham, Essex|
West Ham All Saints Essex
|Poor Law Union||West Ham|
|Registration District||West Ham|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1802|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Ham, or West Ham, is a village, a parish, a sub-district, and a district in Essex. The village stands between Stratford and Plaistow, it is near the North Woolwich and Eastern Counties railway stations at Stratford. It has a post office, under Stratford, London East. The chapelries of West Ham are Plaistow, Barking Road, Victoria Dock, Forest Gate, Stratford St. John, Str. ST. Paul, Street Christchurch and Canning Town are within the boundaries of West Ham. The village of West Ham also contains, Upton, Grove, the Green, and Maryland Point; as well as, the Marshes, Hallsville, Silvertown. There are a number of chapels for Independents, Baptists, Methodists, and Quakers. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
West Ham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|DOCK = Dockland Ancestors (ParishRegister.com) - (£).|
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|West Ham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office
All SaintsChurch St
Burials 1864,1875, 1876: ERO
Baptisms 1950- date
Marriages 1945- date: Not deposited
All Saints Church for the Deaf and Dumb
Baptisms 1906- date
Records with All Saints West Ham
Baptisms 1896- date
Marriages 1897- date: Not deposited
Marriages 1891-1948: ERO
Primitive Methodist Chapel
Marriages 1930-1940: ERO
St John's Reformed Episcopal
Marriages 1891-1911: ERO
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
- 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.