West Itchenor, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to West Itchenor, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Itchenor, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
ITCHENOR, or ICHENOR, WEST (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Manhood, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Chichester. This parish is bounded on the north-west by Chichester harbour. The church is in the early English style of architecture.
West Itchenor is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex.
West Itchenor St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish; the history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches West Itchenor St Nicholas
The parish church of St Nicholas has been designateda grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
West Itchenor, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|West Itchenor, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Itchenor, West
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 623-628. Adapted 16 May 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.