West Lothian (Linlithgowshire), Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources

ScotlandGotoarrow.pngWest Lothian (Linlithgowshire), Scotland

Scotland-west-lothian.png






Guide to West Lothian (Linlithgowshire), Scotland Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

West Lothian (or Linlithgowshire until 1921) is a county in the south of Scotland, bounded on the north by the Firth of Forth, on the east and south-east by the county of Edinburgh, on the south-west by Lanarkshire, and on the west by the county of Stirling.  It is about 21 miles in length and 12 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 112 square miles or 71,680 acres.  It is the western division of the ancient province of Lothian and since 1974 has been part of the region of Lothian. 

After the departure of the Romans, great numbers of the emigrants from the Irish coast, who had established themselves in Cantyre, removed to these parts.  After the union of the kingdoms of the Picts and Scots under Kenneth II (about the year 971), they became identified with the Scots.

There are twelve parishes.  Linlithgow is the county-town and a royal burgh where all the courts are held.  There are also the royal burgh of Queensferry, the burgh-of-barony of Bathgate, and the burgh-of-regality of Borrowstounness, with some smaller towns and populous villages.

The population in 1851 was 26,872.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  Family History Library book 941 E5L.)

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for West Lothian (Linlithgowshire) for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Some of the West Lothian-shire parish records are indexed in West Lothian, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.
This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of West Lothian in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.

Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of West Lothian (or Linlithgowshire) with their parish numbers.  Click on a parish name to see information about records. Click on this link for an outline map of the parishes of West Lothian.

Parish No.
Abercorn 661
Bathgate 662
Borrowstounness 663
Carriden 664
Dalmeny 665
Ecclesmachen 666
Kirkliston 667
Linlithgow 668
Livingstone 669
Queensferry 670
Torphichen 671
Uphall 672
Whitburn 673

Maps

Poorhouse Records

Societies

[genuki.org.uk/Societies/Scotland Secretary]
West Lothian Family History Society
21 Willowpark
Fauldhouse
West Lothian
Scotland
EH47 9HN

The Lothians Family History Society
Jen Mortensen
Phone: 001 909 8090453
E-mail: parishchest@gmail.com




Websites