West Mersea, Essex Genealogy
Guide to West Mersea, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Mersea, Essex|
St Peter and St Paul - West Mersea Essex.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Lexden and Winstree|
|Parish registers: 1625|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1801|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
West Mersea or Mersea (West), is a parish in Lexden district. County of Essex it is 5½ miles WSW of Brightlingsea railway station, and 8 miles S W of Colchester. It comprises the western part of Mersea island, and there is a post office under Colchester.There are chapels for Independents and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
West Mersea, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|West Mersea, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for St Peter and Paul See also West Mersea Congregational church.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex