West Prussia, Germany Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from West Prussia Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search

Germany Gotoarrow.png Westpreußen (West Prussia)

West Prussia Wiki Topics
Gosslershausen.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
West Prussia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Germany courses.
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Poland courses.
Adopt-a-wiki page
ManyRoads thumb.png This page adopted by Mark F Rabideau who welcomes you to contribute
Adopt a page today

Guide to West Prussia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Background

The Provinz of Westpreußen was established in 1773 when the First Polish Republic was divided between Prussia, Russia and Austro-Hungarian Empires. Provinz Westpreußen was divided in 1806 by Napoleon, and restored in 1815. In 1919, the Treaty of Versailles granted most of Westpreußen to the Second Polish Republic. Westpreußen was disestablished in 1922.

During the long period of German administration and settlement, most civil records and many church records used for researching family history were written in the German language. A notable exception was Catholic church records, which were kept in the Latin language.

For German Research, You Must Know Your Ancestors' Town

  • To begin using the records of Germany, knowing that your family came from West Prussia will not be enough to use the records of Germany. Records are kept on the local level, so you will have to know the town they lived in.
  • Details about the town will also help:
    • the county or "Kreis" of that town,
    • where the closest Evangelical Lutheran or Catholic parish church was (depending on their religion),
    • where the civil registration office ("Standesamt") was, and
    • if you have only a village name, you will need the name of the larger town it was part of.

Research to Find the Town

If you do not yet know the name of the town of your ancestor's birth, there are well-known strategies for a thorough hunt for it.

Meyers Gazetteer and Kartenmeister

If You Know the Town, Next Use Meyers Gazetteer

Once you know the town name you need, the other facts you need are contained in Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-lexikon des deutschen Reichs, the gazetteer on which the FamilySearch catalog for Germany is based.


Here is part of an entry from MeyersGaz.org. (The whole entry can be studied at Heusenstamm, MeyersGaz.)

The most important facts here are:

  1. Heusenstamm is in Offenbach Kreis (Kr).
  2. It has its own Standesamt (StdA) or civil registration office.
  3. It has its own Catholic parish church.
  4. By clicking on the "Ecclesiastical" option, we learn that the closest protestant church is 2 miles away in Bieber.


MeyersGaz.png
  • If you find several towns of the same name, checking each one for the birth record of your ancestor may be needed to narrow down the field.

Kartenmeister

Next, find your town in Kartenmeister.com to learn the Polish name and upper jurisdictions that the town became known by after 1945.


Kartenmeister Search Engine

To use Kartenmeister, simply enter the German name of the town in the search field.

Kartenmeister search.png

A Typical Kartenmeister Record

The most important information points here are the name of the Lutheran parish, the name of the Catholic parish, and the location of the civil registry office (Standesamt):

Kartenmeister entry.png [[

Take These Online Classes to Prepare

  1. Watch the Specific Geography portion to learn how to use MeyersGaz.org and Kartenmeister.com to get the details of the German and Polish names of your town and its higher jurisdictions.
  2. Watch the General Resources portion to learn how to check for parish registers using
    1. The PRADZIAD Database
    2. Szukaj w Archiwach
    3. The Lost Shoe Box, with links to:
      1. Geneteka
      2. Metryki GenBaza
      3. Szukaj w Archiwach
    4. Archion, Cooperative of protestant archives ($)
    5. Archives Portal Europe
  3. Watch the West Prussia or Westpreussen portion, which begins at 45:35 minutes.

Maps

Districts by 1818

  1. Deutsch-Krone (Wałcz between 1466-1772 and since 1945)
  2. Flatow (Złotów between 1370-1722 and since 1945, most of district was part of Poland between 1920–1939 and since 1945)
  3. Graudenz (Grudziądz between 1466-1772, 1920–1939 and since 1945)
  4. Konitz (Chojnice between 1466-1772, 1920–1939 and since 1945)
  5. Kulm (Weichsel) (Chełmno between 1466-1772, 1920–1939 and since 1945))
  6. Löbau (Lubawa between 1466-1772, 1807–1815, 1920–1939 and since 1945)
  7. Marienwerder (Kwidzyn today)
  8. Rosenberg (Susz between 1466-1772 and since 1945)
  9. Schlochau (Człuchów between 1466-1772 and since 1945)
  10. Schwetz (Świecie between 1466-1772, 1920–1939 and since 1945)
  11. Strasburg (Brodnica before 1772, between 1920–1939 and since 1945)
  12. Stuhm (Sztum between 1466-1772 and since 1945)
  13. Thorn (Toruń today)
West Prussia German County Names



West Prussia.png

West Prussia Current Polish County Names



716px-Prusy Zachodnie.svg.png

Websites