West Quantoxhead, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from West Quantoxhead, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Parish History

QUANTOXHEAD, WEST (St. Etheldreda), a parish.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

West Quantoxhead, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[1][2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[9]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1558-1812 1558-1812 1558-1753 1558-1753 1558-1812 1558-1812
FREG 1633-1860
1613, 1633-1837
1613, 1633-1860



WEST 1633-1860

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474607.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  9. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 22 October 2013.