West Wickham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to West Wickham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|West Wickham, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Linton|
|Parish registers: 1682|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
WICKHAM, WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 4¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Linton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
West Wickham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|West Wickham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Parish registers for West Wickham, 1682-1877 at FHL
- West Wickham parish registers:baptisms, 1682-1858; marriages, 1682-1841; banns, 1755-1812; burials, 1682-1922 at FHL
- Bishop's transcripts for West Wickham, 1599-1685 at FHL
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
West Wickham on GENUKI