Westbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Westbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Westbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire
Westbury St Peter Gloucestershire.jpg
Westbury St Peter Gloucestershire.
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Westbury on Severn
Registration District Westbury on Severn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

WESTBURY-upon-Severn (St. Peter and St.Paul), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Westbury, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 2½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Newnham. This place is bounded on the east and south by the river Severn, which is here crossed by a ferry to Framilode. [1]Other places in the parish include: Rodley

The spire of the church is detached from the church, originally built as a watch tower around 1270 the wooden shingle roof was added in the 14th century.

Nothing remains visible of the earliest church buildings at Westbury. The first, dedicated to St Peter and St Paul and probably of wood. was built in the 8th century. Of the subsequent rebuildings the oldest work to be seen is from the early 13th century.
village was very small, the parish of Westbury on Trym was a large one, stretching from the Filton boundary over to Shirehampton, across the Downs and into Redland and Kingsdown. The Beating the Bounds ceremony in the 1770s took two days - but this did include stops for refreshments!

The city of Bristol expanded in the 19th and 20th centuries, so churches were built in the new suburbs and the parish size was reduced.
Over two hundred years later Westbury Church gained status as a joint cathedral with Worcester, thanks to Bishop Carpenter, whose stands in a niche on the west tower. The head has been restored.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Westbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
Westbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1753 1538-1753 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
DEAN 1538-1927 1538-1941 1538-1993
FHSO 1800-1837

Deposited parish registers  At Gloucester Archives reference P354
Westbury-on-Severn parish records

www.gloucestershire.gov.uk/contactthearchives

Address:

Gloucestershire Archives
Clarence Row
Alvin Street
GLOUCESTER GL1 3DW

Telephone: + 44 (0) 1452 425295

Fax: + 44 (0) 1452 426378

Email: archives@gloucestershire.gov.uk

Website: www.gloucestershire.gov.uk/archives

1538-2002Parish registers for Westbury-on-Severn, 1539-1883

Content Film
Christenings, 1538-1857; Marriages, 1538-1754; Burials, 1538-1812. FHL BRITISH Film
91545
Marriages, 1754-1860; Banns, 1798-1818; Burials, 1813-1883. FHL BRITISH Film
91546

Bishop's transcripts for Westbury-on-Severn, 1586-1812 Microfilm of original records in the Gloucester City Library, Gloucester. Includes index.

Content Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1586-1812. FHL BRITISH Film
427801

Framilode parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Framilode Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1854-1913 1854-1913 1855-1938 1855-1938 1854-1988 1854-1988

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288780.


Poor Law Unions

  • Westbury on Severn

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 513-517. Date accessed: 12 March 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
http://www.roughwood.net/ChurchAlbum/Gloucestershire/Westbury/WestburyThreeSaintsWindows2004.htm for images of the three Saints windows in the church