Westcote Barton, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes Guide to Westcote Barton, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Westcote Barton, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wootton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Woodstock
Registration District Woodstock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodstock
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

BARTON-WESTCOTT (St. Edward), a parish, in the union of Woodstock, hundred of Wootton, county of Oxford, 8 miles (N. by W.) from Woodstock. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Westcote Barton, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Westcote Barton, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1559-1995
1561-1995
1558-1995


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 164-168. Date accessed: 04 October 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 22 January 2014.