Weston on Trent, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Weston on Trent, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Weston on Trent, Derbyshire|
Weston-on-Trent St Mary Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1565|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1661|
|Rural Deanery||Stanton by Bridge|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
WESTON-UPON-TRENT, a parish in Shardlow district, Derbyshire.There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.
WESTON-UPON-TRENT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (S. E. by S.) from Derby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Civil registration refers to Weston upon Trent in the Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Weston on Trent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Weston on Trent Parish Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1376 has deposited registers Bap 1565-1605,1610-1885 Mar 1565-1605, 1610-1999 Burials 1565-1605, 1610-1999 Banns 1755-1812, 1897-1949
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1661-1864 Mar1661-1859 Burials 1661-1864 Missing 1860-1863 Bap & Bur
- General Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Weston on Trent on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.., Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870. DAte accessed: 25 June 2103.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 524-527. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.