Wethersfield, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Wethersfield, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Wethersfield St Mary Magdalene Essex
|Poor Law Union||Braintree|
|Parish registers: 1647|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Wethersfield (St Mary Magdalene), is a village and a parish in Braintree district, Essex. The villageis 6¼ miles NW of Braintree railway station,it has a post-office under Braintree. The parish includes two hamlets. There was once a Roman Catholic chapel, in the diocese of Rochester. The church is ancient. There is an Independent chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Wethersfield, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Wethersfield, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|ESSEX||1647-1981||1681-1682, 1701-1956||1647-1680, 1801-1997|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office
Images for Wethersfield St Mary Magdalene, St Mary the Virgin Blackmore End, Wethersfield Congregational(later United Reformed) Church available.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241371.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.