Wetzikon parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Wetzikon parish

Guide to Wetzikon parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Wetzikon

Aeussere Egg
Allenberg
Bächelacker
Bergli bei Ettenhausen
Binzacker
Breite
Buchgrindel
Bühl bei Kempten
Burg
Burgweid
Egg
Eichholz
Emmetschloo
Ettenhausen
Floos
Frohberg
Grossenstein
Grund
Grundtal
Guldisloo
Hausbühl

Henne
Herrenweidli
Himmerich
Hochrüti
Juhee
Kehrscheibe
Kempten
Kratten
Leisihalde
Letten
Linggenberg
Mauren
Moos
Morgen
Morgental
Mühle
Mühlewiesen
Neugrund
Neugut
Neuhaus

Ober-Emmetschloo
Ober-Kempten
Ober-Medikon
Ober-Neubruch
Ober-Neuwies
Ober-Wetzikon
Pfrundweid
Ringetshalden
Robank
Robenhausen
Rötel
Rosenberg
Rosental
Schneggen
Schönau
Schöneich
Schwendi
Senggelen
Sommerau
Sporrweggli

Stegen
Steinacker
Talrain
Tannenrain
Tobelacker
Unter-Medikon
Unter-Neubruch
Unter-Neuwies
Unter-Wetzikon
Vogelsang
Waldegg
Walfershausen
Weidli
Weingarten
Wetzikon
Widum
Wiesental
Zelgacker
Zelgli
Zihl

Surrounding Parishes

Bäretswil
Gossau
Hinwil
Mönchaltorf
Pfäffikon
Seegräben

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Wetzikon:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 700
1634 1185139 3 481
1637 1185142 1 139
1640 1185144 2 367
1643 1185146 2 409
1646 1185148 1 715
1653 1185150 3 1353
1657 1185179 1 79
1670 1185154 1 709
1678 1185157 2 281
1682 1185159 2 485
1689 1185163 2 83
1699 1185166 2 511
1709 1185170 1 293
1726 1185175 2 91

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Wetzikon families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Wetzikon belongs to the Wetzikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Wetzikon
Bahnhofstrasse 167
CH-8622 Wetzikon

Tel: +41 44 931 32 00

email: zivilstandswesen@wetzikon.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Wetzikon prior to 1875:

Affeltranger
Bachofner
Bauert
Bebie
Bertschinger
Beugger
Bietenholz
Bodmer
Boller
Bosshard
Brunner
Büeler
Corrodi
Dietliker
Ehrismann
Eppler (1827, from
    Germany)
Erni
Ernst
Faust
Flachsmann
Frei
Furrer

Gnehm
Gretler (1835, from
    Maur)
Grimm
Grob
Gubelmann
Günthard
Gujer / Guyer
Hämmig
Hartmann
Hauser (1875, from
    Wollerau)
Hermatschweiler
Hermetschweiler
Hess
Heusser
Hirzel
Hofmann
Homberger
Hotz
Hürlimann
Jucker (1865, from
    Hittnau)

Jungholz
Kaspar
Klaus
Köng
Köpf (1846, from
    Germany)
Krauer
Kübler
Kündig
Kunz
Löffler (1820, from
    Germany)
Mannhard
Meier
Müller
Ottiker
Pfenninger
Pfister
Raths
Reiser
Rüegg
Schaufelberger
Schellenberg

Schneider
Schweizer
Senn (1875, from
    Fischenthal)
Spörri
Stahel
Stock (1836, from Germany)
Suter
Tobler
Vollenweider
Walder
Wartmann
Weber
Wettstein
Widmeier
Wild
Wildermuth
Wismer
Wolf
Wolfensberger
Zimmermann
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland