Weybridge, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Weybridge, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Guide to Weybridge, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Weybridge, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elmbridge
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Chertsey
Registration District Chertsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1692
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

WEYBRIDGE (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Chertsey, First division of the hundred of Elmbridge, W. division of Surrey, 4 miles (W.) from Esher, and 20 miles (S. W. by W.) from London. James Taylor, Esq., in 1836 built a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Weybridge, Surrey Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
Indexes 1625-1875 FamilySearch[2] 1625-1876 FamilySearch[3] 1625-1865 findmypast[4]
1625-1775 findmypast[5]

Census records

1841 Census returns for Weybridge are missing.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 193490.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[6]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Weybridge Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (30+ entries)


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., [http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51394#s14 A 18 February 2014.
  2. Batches C015212, C015213, P015211, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batches M015211, M015213, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  6. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.