Whatcote, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whatcote, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Warwickshire EnglandGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

{{Infobox England Jurisdictions.
Whatcote, Warwickshire
St Peter, Whatcote. .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

WHATCOTT (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, Brailes division of the hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 4¼ miles (N. E.) from Shipston. [1]

WHATCOTE, a parish in Shipston-on-Stour district, Warwick: 9½ miles SE of Stratford-on-Avon r. station. Post town, Shipston-on-Stour.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Another site is the West Midlands BMD which comprises parts of Warwickshire, Worcestershire, & Staffordshire.

Church records

Whatcote, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[3][4][5]
Whatcote, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1824 1754-1824

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 534-537. Date accessed: 10 November 2013.
  2. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  5. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.