Whickham, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whickham, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Whickham, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes include: Fellside, Lowland Dunston, Lowside, Swallwell, and Swalwell.

Whickham, Durham
Whickhan St Mary the Virgin Co Durham.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1767
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WHICKHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Gateshead, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information: Whickham is an Ancient Parish in the county of Durham. Other places in the parish i


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whickham, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/266 April 1767-1853 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1576-1983 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Whm).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Whickham are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL: -

  • Dunston, Christ Church 1872-1976 (EP/Dun.CC).
  • Dunston, St. Nicholas 1929-1978 (EP/Dun.SN).
  • Swalwell 1905-1989 (EP/Swa).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241349.

Poor Law Unions

Gateshead Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Whickham on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.