Whitchurch, Herefordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whitchurch, Herefordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngHerefordshireGotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Whitchurch, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

WHITCHURCH (St. Dubritius), a parish, in the union of Monmouth, Lower division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford, 6½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Ross. This parish is situated on the bank of the river Wye, and on the road from Ross to Monmouth; and comprises about 2000 acres, including an extra-parochial district of the same name, which consists of 130 acres. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is [FreeBMD].

Church records

Whitchurch, Herefordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[2]
Whitchurch, Herefordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DEAN 1633-1883 1636-1992 1634-1950

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., <a href="http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51398#s12" _fcksavedurl="http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51398#s12"><i>A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848),</i></a> pp. 543-551. Accessed and adapted 9 July, 2013.
  2. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 22 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.