White County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from White County, Illinois)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Illinois


White County

Guide to White County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

White County, Illinois
Map
Map of Illinois highlighting White County
Location in the state of Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: December 9, 1815
County Seat Carmi
Courthouse
White County Courthouse.gif
Address White County Courthouse
301 E. Main Street
P.O. Box 339
Carmi, IL 62821
(618) 382-7211
White County Website


White County Organization

White County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for White County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1816 1877 1820 1816 1816

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for White County are kept, see the White County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

The first white settlers came in about 1806. White County was organized within the Illinois Territory by an act of the Territorial Legislature of 7 December 1815. The land was split off from Gallatin County. The county was named after Leonard White, a prominent citizen of Gallatin County.[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Hamilton County was set off from White County in 1821.[2]

Townships and Election Precincts

The County Court (county commissioners, county government) met for the first time on 12 February 1816. They divided the county into three townships:

In December 1819, the County Court divided the county into two townships, East and West, separated by the line between Ranges 7 and 8 East.[4]

In 1830 there were four townships: Burnt Prairie, Mantua, Fox River, and Prairie. [5]

Prior to 1871, the county had eight election precincts:

Township government was approved by popular vote in the fall of 1871, and the following ten townships were organized. These townships have not changed down to the present.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of White, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on White county cemeteries.

Census

For information and tips on accessing census records online, see Illinois Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190025,386
191023,052−9.2%
192020,081−12.9%
193018,149−9.6%
194020,02710.3%
195020,9354.5%
196019,373−7.5%
197017,312−10.6%
198017,8643.2%
199016,522−7.5%
200015,371−7.0%
201014,665−4.6%
IL Counties 1900-1990

1840 Pensioners

Church Records

Information about early White County, Illinois churches may be found in the township histories section of a local history published in 1883, see: FHL Book 977.396 H2h 1972.


Baptist

Catholic

FamilySearch has made parish records from four Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in White County available online. The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:


Christian

Evangelical

Methodist

Presbyterian

Quaker

Reorganized LDS


Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for White County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.

  • 1816–1834; 1848–1855 Vaught, Harriet B. Circuit Court index book A, B, 1816-1834; index book E, 1848-1855. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. FHL film 823710 Item 4
  • 1860–1888 Vaught, Harriet B. Index to White County court papers, White County, Illinois, 1860-1888. Carni, Illinois : H.B. Vaught, [198-?]. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.396 P22i v. 1–2
  • 1842–1859 Vaught, Harriet B. White County, Illinois, records, 1842-1859. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1976. FHL film 928262 Item 4

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

A variety of early White County genealogical records are transcribed in:

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for White County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.

General

Abstracts

Copies of Original Records

Online Resources

Maps

Ilwhite.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from White County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of White County.

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies E and G.
- 14th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company H.
- 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company G.
- 29th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, D, and G
- 40th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 56th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B and F.
- 62nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 87th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, C, F, G, I and K.
- 98th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 120th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • 1860–1898 Some naturalization and citizenship records for White County are included in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select White County, and select Naturalization and Citizenship.

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

Online Probate Records


Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for White County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.

Abstracts

Copies of Original Records

Repositories

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for White County are kept, see the White County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for White County.

Public Libraries

White County Historical Society
Mary Smith Fay Genealogy Library
P.O. Box 121, 203 N. Church St.
Carmi, IL 62821-0121
phone:618-382-8425
email: w.c.h.s-genealogy@hotmail.com
Open Tue-Fri 11:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Read information published about the society's holdings in The Carmi Times.; also The Carmi Times. Online Catalog

Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.

Social Groups Online

Societies

The Genealogical Society of White County
PO Box 142
1220 Outer East Main Street
Carmi IL 62821
E-mail:gswcil@hotmail.com
Website


White County Historical Society
Mary Smith Fay Genealogy Library
PO Box 121
203 N. Church St.
Carmi, IL 62821-0121
Telephone Number:618-382-8425
E-mail:w.c.h.s-genealogy@hotmail.com
The Carmi Times.
The Carmi Times.
Online Catalog

Genealogical Society of Southern Illinois has a page with details about its' activities.

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the White County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository - Southern Illinois University  (IRAD-SIU)

General

Births

Copies of Birth Records

Marriages

Abstracts of Marriage Records

  • 1816–1840 Bender, Lucy. Early settlers' records of White County, Illinois, marriages licences, 1816-1840. [S.l.] : Bender, 1936. FHL book 977.396 V25b
  • 1816–1844 Daughters of the American Revolution. Hopewell Congregation Church records, White County marriage records, 1816-1844. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1970. FHL book 848656 Item 1
  • 1816–1821 Harrelson, Ralph S. Marriages, information taken from original marriage documents & old marriage record books relative to marriages celebrated in Hamilton County, Illinois, 1821-1870: also a record of marriages celebrated in White County, Illinois, 1816 through 1821. Carterville, Illinois: Genealogy Society of Southern Illinois, c1986. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.39 V28h

Copies of Marriage Records

Online Resources

Deaths

Abstracts of Death Records

  • 1877–1902 Knotter, Janice Melton. White County Illinois death register: book 1– December 1877–September 1902: with lists of doctors and undertakers and explanation in medical terms. Carmi, Illinois: Genealogy Society of White County (IL), c2008. Other libraries (WorldCat) FHL book 977.396 V2k

Copies Death Records

  • 1850–1880 Mortality Schedules, courtesy: Ancestry ($)
  • 1878–1912 Index to deaths FHL films 977065
  • 1878–1915 Death register FHL films 977065
  • 1877–1915 Death record; IRAD_SIU
  • 1877–1912 Death record index; IRAD_SIU
  • 1877–1916 Death record, stillbirths; IRAD_SIU

Online Resources


Web Sites

References

  1. History of White County Illinois (1883; reprint, Carmi, Illinois: White County Historical Society, 1972), 221, 297.
  2. Ibid., 297.
  3. Ibid., 300, 301.
  4. Ibid., 297.
  5. Ibid., 307.
  6. Ibid., 298, 299.
  7. Ibid., 299.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=White_County,_Illinois_Genealogy&oldid=2755543"