White County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from White County, Indiana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png White County

Guide to White County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

White County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded Febraury 1, 1834
County Seat Monticello
Courthouse
Address White County Courthouse
110 North Main Street
PO Box 350
Monticello, IN 47960
Phone: 219.583.7032
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1834*
1882*
1834
1835
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed February 1834 from Carroll County.[1]
  • County Seat: Monticello [2]



Neighboring Counties

Jasper  • Pulaski  • Cass  • Carrol  • Tippecanoe  • Benton

White CountyClinton CountyCarroll CountyPulaski CountyJasper CountyNewton CountyCass CountyFulton CountyTipton CountyHoward CountyBenton CountyFountain CountyWarren CountyTippecanoe CountyINWhite.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing White County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

History

Local Histories

  • Arthur, Carrie, Edna Bierrum, and Berniece Drybread. 1973.Index to counties of White and Pulaski, Indiana. Historical and biographical. (Winamac, Indiana: The Pulaski County Genealogical Society.) 977.29 H2w FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries
  • Hamelle, William H. 1977. A standard history of White County, Indiana: an authentic narrative of the past, with an extended survey of modern developments in the progress of town and country. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.) 977.293 H2h FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

  • Civil War

Civil War service men from White County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in White County.

1890 Census Veterans Schedules

The 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for White County are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.

Civil War Book

  • "Military Matters" Chapter 11 in Hamelle, William H. 1977. A standard history of White County, Indiana: an authentic narrative of the past, with an extended survey of modern developments in the progress of town and country. (Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.), (page 176-191),977.293 H2h FHL US/CAN Book, FHL Collection, Other Libraries, Internet Archive

Civil War Databases

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupation

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voting Registration

Repositories

Archives
County Courthouse

White County Courthouse
110 North Main Street
PO Box 350
Monticello, IN 47960
Phone: 219.583.7032

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1834. County Recorder has land records. County Health Department has birth, death and burial records. [3]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Societies

White County Historical Society
101 South Bluff Street
Monticello, IN 47860
Telephone Number: 574-583-3998
E-mail: museum@lightstreamin.com
Website

Anson Wolcott Historical Society
PO Box 242
Wolcott, IN 47995
Telephone Number: 219-279-2951
Website

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the White County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the White County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:



Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "White County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White County, Indiana 217 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.