White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from White Pine County, Nevada)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png White Pine County

Guide to White Pine County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

The county named is derived from White Pine, an old name for the Limber Pine, a common tree in the county's mountains. It's county seat is Ely and was founded 1869.[1] It is located in the East central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

White Pine County Courthouse
953 Campton Street
PO Box 659
Ely, NV 89301-1002
Phone: 775.289.2341
White Pine County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, divorce, probate and court records from 1907 and naturalization records.
County Recorder has land records from 1885. [3]

White Pine County, Nevada Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887*
1884*
1887*
1869
1885
1885
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

In early 1880’s, the county courthouse in Hamilton was burned down along with much of the business section by an embezzling county treasurer. In 1885, a store owner caused a devastating fire which burned down the Court House which had been moved to the Withington Hotel.. Only a pitiful few records from the Sheriff’s office were salvaged. The town of Hamilton had suffered previous fires before the last which resulted in its faster demise.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

  • Osceola
  • Pogonip
  • Preston
  • Riepetown
  • Ruppes Place
  • Ruth
  • Shermantown
  • Shoshone
  • Steptoe
  • Stonehouse
  • Tippett
  • Warm Springs
  • Willow Grove


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Ely
Organized: March 2, 1869
Parent County(s): Millard and Utah Territory[4]
Neighboring Counties
Elko  • Eureka  • Juab (UT)  • Lincoln  • Millard (UT)  • Nye  • Tooele (UT)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NevadaWhitePineCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nv-white-pine.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of White Pine County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on White county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 7,189
1880 2,682 −62.7%
1890 1,721 −35.8%
1900 1,961 13.9%
1910 7,441 279.4%
1920 8,935 20.1%
1930 11,771 31.7%
1940 12,377 5.1%
1950 9,424 −23.9%
1960 9,808 4.1%
1970 10,150 3.5%
1980 8,167 −19.5%
1990 9,264 13.4%
2000 9,181 −0.9%
2010 10,030 9.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State and Territory Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. In 1850, Nevada was a part of New Mexico and Utah Territories but had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, parts of Nevada were enumerated in Utah Territory and New Mexico Territory. [5] For links to Federal census indexes, see Nevada Census.


Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Ely
  • Lund
  • McGill
  • Preston
  • Ruth

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, White Pine – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nvwhitepine.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korea War

Vietnam War

Other Conflicts

For further information see Nevada Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Nevada Newspapers Online

Nevada Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "White Pine County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Pine_County,_Nevada 3/28/2017.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “White Pine County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/whitep/ accessed 3/28/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), White Pine County, Oregon page 443, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. 4.0 4.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page ?
  6. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).