White Waltham with Shottesbrooke, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
White Waltham with Shottesbrooke

Guide to White Waltham with Shottesbrooke, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

White Waltham with Shottesbrooke, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beynhurst
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Cookham
Registration District Cookham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563; Separate registers exist for Shottesbrooke beginning 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608; Separate records exist for Shottesbrooke beginning 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

White Waltham with Shottesbrooke is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1744 from White Waltham Ancient Parish and Shottesbrooke Ancient Parish.

Here is a mid-19th century historical and jurisdictional perspective on both White Waltham and Shottesbrooke parishes:

SHOTTESBROOK (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Cookham, hundred of Beynhurst, county of Berks, 5 miles (S. W.) from Maidenhead. The parish is a vicarage joined to the vicarage of White-Waltham (which also see), united in 1744. The church, was erected in 1337 (parish registers commence from at least 1612).[1]

WALTHAM, WHITE, or Waltham-Abbas (St Mary), a parish, in the union of Cookham, hundred of Beynhurst, county of Berks, 4 miles (S. W.) from Maidenhead; containing 1021 inhabitants. This [parish was] united to the (parish) rectory of Shottesbrook in 1744. There was formerly also a chapel of ease at Feens (which also see). Here are places of worship for Independents and Lady Huntingdon's Connexion.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. This parish is part of the Bradfield Registration District.

Church records

White Waltham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
White Waltham Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1567-1812




To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. 

Family History Library Catalog entries for parish church records. 

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist.

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.


findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scoll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Records

Workhouse, Oxfordshire

Family History Library Catalog Entries

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdiction

Vision of Britain

Websites

White Waltham in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 90-93. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 449-453. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  3. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.

Oxfordshire History Centre

Oxforshire Family History Society

Oxfordshire