Whitney, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Whitney, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hay|
|Parish registers: 1740|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
Parish History =
WHITNEY (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Hay, hundred of Huntington, county of Hereford, 4 miles (N. E.) from Hay. It is situated on the river Wye. A considerable traffic in bark and timber is carried on by the Wye, which is navigable; and the road from Brecknock to Hereford passes through the parish. The church was erected in 1740.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Poor Law Unions
See Breconshire Poor Law Unions Hay Poor Law Union
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 555-557. Accessed and adapted 10 July, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.