Whittlesey St Mary, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Whittlesey St Mary, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Whittlesey St Mary, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Whittlesey
Registration District Whittlesey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

WHITTLESEY, a village, and district comprising the parishes of St. Andrew and St. Mary, which form a union, in the hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 6 miles (E. by S.) from Peterborough. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Calvinistic Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish register transcripts, 1654-1694 at FHL

Parish register transcripts for St. Mary's Church, Whittelsey and the Newington Chapel in Liverpool, 1654-1853 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for St. Mary's Church, Whittlesey, 1599-1856 at FHL

Non Conformist Churches
  • Particular Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241228.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Whittlesey on GENUKI

Whittlesey St Mary on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-560.Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.