Whitwick, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Whitwick, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Whitwick, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Whitwick, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

WHITWICK (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Ashby-de la-Zouch, hundred of WestGoscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles (E. by S.) from Ashby. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Whitwick St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Whitwick St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1604-1915
1604-1910
1604-1914

Whitwick St Andrew (Thringston) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Whitwick St Andrew (Thringston) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1862-1909
1876-1918
1862-1915

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438746.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 561-564. Date accessed: 31 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.