Wick St Lawrence, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wick St Lawrence, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Wick St Lawrence, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wick St Lawrence, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winterstoke
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Axbridge
Registration District Axbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615; For more records see Congresbury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Axbridge
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

WICK (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Axbridge, hundred of Winterstoke, E. division of Somerset, 8½ miles (N. N. W.) from Axbridge.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wick St Lawrence, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Wick St Lawrence, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1615-1813 1615-1813 1615-1753 1615-1753 1615-1813 1615-1813




Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474608.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 26 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.