Widmerpool, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Widmerpool, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Widmerpool St+Peter Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
WIDMER-POOL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 9 miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for Baptists. 
Widmerpool St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish.
The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
See also Widmerpool Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Widmerpool, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|WIDMERPOOL PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Widmerpool St Peter Baptisms 1539-2006 Marriages 1540-2005 Burials 1539-2006 Bishop's Transcripts 1604-1864
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Widmerpool
Widmerpool - St Peter. A transcription of memorial inscriptions in the Churchyard, dating from 1751, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol 63, pages 37-38, FHL Ref, 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.