Wil parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Wil parish

Guide to Wil parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Wil includes the civil parishes of Hüntwangen and Wasterkingen.

History

Place Names

Locations within Wil

Hüntwangen

Eichen
Etsbühl

Hüntwangen

Linde

Station

Wasterkingen

Berg
Mühle

Spitz

Wasterkingen

Zollhaus

Wil

Bahnhüsli
Berghof

Buchenloo
Feldhof

Hüslihof
Lirenhof

Neuhaus
Wil

Surrounding Parishes

Dettighofen (Baden, Germany)
Eglisau
Glattfelden
Hohentengen am Hochrhein (Baden, Germany)
Klettgau (Baden, Germany)
Rafz

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Wil:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185140 1 411
1637 1185142 2 413
1640 1185144 2 533
1643 1185147 1 43
1646 1185148 2 283
1649 1185149 2 357
1655-1656 1185179 2 1
1663 1185179 2 479
1670 1185154 2 791
1678 1185158 1 497
1685 1185160 1 83
1701 1185168 1 453
1709 1185170 2 127
1723 1185176 2 677

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Wil families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Wil prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland