Wila parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Wila parish

Guide to Wila parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Wila

Au
Boden
Bogenhaus
Brenggau
Burg
Ghöngg
Girentobel
Grünau
Hinter-Aegetswil
Hinter-Auli

Hinter-Eich
Hinzenberg
Hofstetten
Jakobsbrunnen
Loch
Manzenhub
Ottenhub
Pfaffberg
Rosenberg
Rosengarten

Rouss
Säge
Schuppis
Schürhaus
Sengi
Sennenhaus
Sommerau
Steinen
Strick

Talau
Talgarten
Tannau
Vorder-Aegetswil
Vorder-Auli
Vorder-Eich
Wiesental
Wila
Wilhelmshaus

Surrounding Parishes

Bauma
Fischingen (Thurgau)
Sternenberg
Turbenthal
Wildberg

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Wila:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 105
1637 1185142 1 91
1640 1185143 2 747
1643 1185146 1 701
1646 1185148 1 331
1649 1185149 1 815
1657 1185179 1 59
1663 1185179 2 287
1670 1185154 1 611
1678 1185157 1 983
1682 1185160 3 87
1688 1185162 1 799
1694 1185166 2 391
1700 1185166 2 415
1711 1185171 2 433
1716 1185175 1 569
1722 1185175 1 609
1726 1185175 1 639
1735 1185175 1 675
1762 1185175 1 711

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Wila families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Wila belongs to the Bauma civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Bauma
Dorfstrasse 41
Postfach 232
CH-8494 Bauma

Tel: +41 52 397 70 60

email: zivilstandsamt@bauma.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Wila prior to 1875:

Amstein
Bosshard
Bühler
Egli (1875, from Sternenberg)
Fazer (1803, from Salmsach)
Fluck
Furrer
Gubler
Isler
Jucker

Kägi
Keller
Kündig
Kunz
Lüssi
Manz
Müller
Ott
Rebsamen

Rüegg
Ruppert
Schnitter
Schoch
Seiser (1871, from Germany)
Stahel
Trachsler
Vogt (1852)
Wylemann

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland