Wilburton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wilburton, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Wilburton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wilburton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Ely
Registration District Ely
Records begin
Parish registers: 1736
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

WILBURTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of South Witchford, union and Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 6½ miles (S. W.) from Ely. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wilburton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Wilburton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1860 1599-1835, 1854, 1856
1599-1860

Parish register transcripts, 1599-1851 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Wilburton, 1599-1860 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches

Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241229.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wilburton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 575-577. Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.