Willaston, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Willaston, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Willaston, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Willaston, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History

WILLASTON, a township, in the parish of Neston, union, and Higher division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 2¾ miles (E.) from Great Neston. [1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Willaston Chapelry near Great Neston, registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Willaston Christ Church Parish  (1865) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR Undefined
FS PR's 1862-1909   NONE

Willaston was a chapelry in the parish of Neston. The chapel is Christ Church.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of Willaston, near Great Neston, 1865-1944 Cheshire Record Office no.: P180/1/1-2, P180/2/1-4, P180/3.

Parish Registers: Parish registers of Willaston, near Great Neston Film
Baptisms 1865-1902. Marriages 1865-1924.
1656757 Items 13 - 14
Burials 1865-1933.
1656758 Item 1
Baptisms, 1902-1944. Marriages, 1924-1944.
2197435 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Willaston, 1892-1894 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 220

Bishops Transcripts: Bishop's transcripts for Willaston
Baptisms, burials, 1892-1894.
1647761 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Wirral (1837-1974)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.


Wiiaston (near Neston) on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 577-5Date accessed: 17 January 2014.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.