Willingale Doe, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Willingale Doe, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Willingale Doe

Guide to Willingale Doe, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Willingale Doe, Essex
St. Christopher Church, Willingale, Essex .jpg
St. Christopher Church, Willingale, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dunmow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Ongar
Registration District Ongar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Roding
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Willingale-Doe (St Christopher), is a village and a parish in Ongar district, Essex. The village is 4½ miles NE by N of Ongar railway station. It has a post-office, by the name of Willingale, under Ongar. The parish includes Tyrrells-Hall hamlet.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Willingale Doe, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Willingale Doe, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1570-1999 1571-1956 1570-1999

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241367.


Poor Law Unions

Ongar Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.

offset=1 Churches Conservation Trust