Wilsford, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wilsford, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Wilsford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wilsford, Lincolnshire
Wilsford St Mary the Virgin Lincolnshire.jpg
Wilsford St Mary the Virgin Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winnibriggs and Threo
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

WILSFORD (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Sleaford. [1]

Wilsford St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which includes Hanbeck.

The hamlet and civil parish of Wilsford is close to Ancaster, Lincolnshire and a deserted mediaeval village lies between them.

The church retains part of the Saxon building but was built substantially in the Norman period and has undergone renovation in subsequent centuries including Victorian renovation in 1860-1861 and again ten years later.

There is no remaining trace of the Priory founded at Wilsford.

Please do not confuse with Wilsford, Wiltshire

Resources

Civil Registration

The parish was in the Leadenham sub District of Sleaford registration District.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Wilsford Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Wilsford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Wilsford/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 August 2013.