| Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library
E-mail: Wilson's Creek Contact Us form
- Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
John K. Hulston Research Library
6424 West Farm Road 182
Republic, Missouri 65738-9514
Hours and holidays: The Library is open Tuesday-Saturday, 9 a.m.-Noon and 1-4 p.m. The battlefield is open daily, except for Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. The battlefield closes at Noon on December 24 (Christmas Eve).
Directions: by plane, car, and taxi.
Google map: John K. Hulston Research Library, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield
Internet sites and databases:
- Wilson Creek National Battlefield Hulston Library holdings, public use, reference services, genealogy, regimental histories, hours, Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System, and contact information.
- COOLcat catalog online. Combined catalog of the Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library, the Springfield-Greene County Library Center, the Library Station branch, and the Ozarks Genealogical Society Library, among others. Search by keyword, title, author, subject, magazine/newpaper title, or call number. Also available in WorldCat.
- Wilson's Creek National Battlefield plan your visit, learn about the park, get involved, maps, and calendar.
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System National Park Service database search among 6.3 million names. Also search by regiment or vessel.
All of the Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library's 10,000 volumes are non-circulating, but are available for use on-site. The collection focuses on the American Civil War period, especially on the Trans-Mississippi Theater. The library has many regimental histories and adjutant general reports mostly for the Union side.
This library can help genealogists find ancestors who served in the American Civil War, and learn more about that war in Missouri. They have access to the National Park Service's 6.3 million name database online called the Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System. They also have microfilm copies of the Compiled Service Records for all Union and Confederate soldiers from Missouri, and those from other states who fought at Wilson's Creek.
- This National Battlefield preserves the site of the Battle of Wilson's Creek. Fought on August 10, 1861, it was the first major American Civil War engagement west of the Mississippi River.
- The Confederate's failure to exploit their victory here resulted in keeping Missouri in the Union.
- Major features include a 5-mile automobile tour loop, the restored 1852 Ray House, and "Bloody Hill," the scene of the major battle.
- The site is located just southwest of the city of Springfield, in southwestern Missouri.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Wilson's Creek National Battlefield Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, bounty land, homesteads, ethnic sources, prisons, fed employees.
- National Archives II, Suitland MD, Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Justice, Labor, State, Transportation, and Treasury all after 1900, and modern military records.
- National Archives at Kansas City federal censuses 1790–1930; selected military service indexes, pension indexes, passenger lists, naturalizations, photos, adoptions, vital records, land, and Indian records.
- Mid-Continent Public Library Midwest Genealogy Center, Independence, a great American genealogy collection: censuses, MO federal land sales, penitentiary, St. Louis fur trade, Civil War, passenger lists, plantations, American Indians, city directories, newspapers, Draper Manuscripts, and KY taxes.</ref>
- Springfield-Greene County Library Center has substantial genealogy for southern Missouri: censuses, religious and church histories, city directories, U.S. Civil War, online death certificates 1910-1958, births, marriages, land, probate, cemeteries, clippings, newspapers, American Indians, maps, and periodicals.</ref> 
- Springfield-Greene County Health Department, Springfield, has births 1920-present; deaths 1980-present.
- Greene County Archives and Records Center, Springfield, births 1883-1902, marriages since 1833, deaths 1883-1902, divorces 1837-1950, probate 1833-1990, deeds 1833-1960s, civil and criminal court cases 1833-1991, coroner 1830s-1970s, military discharges, schools, taxes, road books, and petitions.
- U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri, Springfield, recent civil, criminal, or bankruptcy cases.
- Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center, Springfield, official archives, research center, and museum of the Assemblies of God.
- Missouri Pacific Historical Society, Bucklin, railroad heritage including some employee records. This railroad had several affiliate railroads.
- Ozarks Afro-American Heritage Museum, Walnut Grove, a repository of local Afro-American culture, with an ever-growing collection.
- Ozarks Genealogical Society Library, Springfield, has Missouri and other states, a large periodical collection, and special southern Missouri family records.</ref> 
- Republic Historical Society online center for historical research in Republic, Missouri.
- Springfield Missouri Family History Center has premium online services for free, offers research suggestions, and can order microfilms from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Christian, Dade, Dallas, Lawrence, Polk, and Webster.
- Community of Christ Library and Archives, Independence, books, periodicals, letters, and diaries of the of the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints/Community of Christ.
- Concordia Historical Institute, St. Louis, Department of Archives and History of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
- Episcopal Diocese of Missouri Archives, St. Louis, a library, extensive document and photograph collections, and parish registers.
- Kansas City Public Library Missouri Valley Special Collections, The Missouri Valley Room has a great genealogy collection for Missouri and Kansas with biographies, periodicals, genealogies, diaries, photos, scrapbooks, and newspapers of the Kansas City area. 
- Missouri Bureau of Vital Records, Jefferson City, central registry of Missouri births and deaths since 1910; marriages and divorces since 1948.
- Missouri History Museum Library, St. Louis, has regional history sources, St. Louis, Missouri, the Mississippi and Missouri Valleys, the Louisiana Purchase, American West: indexes, guides, catalogs, photos, genealogy workshops. Many records of Missouri settlers from Illinois.</ref>
- Missouri State Archives, Jefferson City, has court, land, military, death records, federal censuses, county and municipal records, photos, penitentiary, and manuscript records. Birth and death record index since 1883 is online; birth records 1883-1895; marriages 1827-1937.
- Missouri United Methodist Archives, Fayette, historical materials on Methodism in Missouri emphasizing ministers.
- Roman Catholic Archdiocese of St. Louis Office of Archives and Records parish christenings, confirmations, marriages, and deaths.
- St. Louis County Library, a Missouri collection including the National Genealogical Society, and St. Louis Genealogical Society collections, online databases, federal censuses, births, deaths, cemeteries, church records, military records, naturalizations, newspapers, wills, African American records, yearbooks, and can order microfilms from the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
- St. Louis Mercantile Library, early newspapers, railroads, inland waterways, county records, biographies, and genealogies. A premier library for Missouri research.</ref>
- St. Louis Public Library has an Obituary Index for the years 1880–1927; 1942–1945; 1992–2006, family histories, passenger lists, Heritage Quest, and Gateway Family Historian publication.
- Saul Brodsky Jewish Community Library, St. Louis, comprehensive source for Judaica. 23,000 books.
- State Historical Society of Missouri, Columbia, census, maps, newspapers, online tools, oral history, photos, historical manuscripts, and reference materials.</ref>
- Repositories in surrounding states: Arkansas, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.
- Allen County Public Library, Ft. Wayne IN, has a premier genealogical periodical collection including Missouri, genealogies, local histories, databases, military, censuses, directories, passenger lists, American Indians, African Americans, Canadians.
- Dallas Public Central Library, outstanding genealogical collection with records for more than Texas, including Missouri, Oklahoma, the South, Mid-Atlantic, and New England states.
- Newberry Library, a large Chicago repository with genealogies, local histories, censuses, military, land, indexes, vital records, court, and tax records mostly from the Mississippi Valley, Missouri, eastern seaboard, Canada, and British Isles.
- fold3 online military records, documents, and photos.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Contact Us in Wilson's Creek National Battlefield in National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior (accessed 28 March 2016).
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 The Hulston Library in Wilson's Creek National Battlefield in National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior (accessed 28 March 2016).
- ↑ Plan Your Visit in Wilson's Creek National Battlefield in National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior (accessed 28 March 2016).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 2. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 67.
- ↑ Guide to Local History and Genealogy Department Collections in Springfield-Greene County Library District (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 394. WorldCat 55947869; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 9th ed. (Draper, UT : Everton Publishers, 1999), 231. WorldCat 50140092; FHL Book 973 D27e 1999.
- ↑ List of Available Records in Greene County Archives and Records Center (accessed 23 March 2016).
- ↑ Home in United States Courts Western Missouri (accessed 23 March 2016).
- ↑ Research in Ozarks Genealogical Society (accessed 15 March 2014).
- ↑ Introduction to LDS Family History Centers in Family History Research Wiki (accessed 29 February 2016).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 47 and 67.
- ↑ Special Collections in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 7 March 2014).
- ↑ Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Information in Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (accessed 3 March 2016).
- ↑ Vital Records in Kansas City Public Library (accessed 2 Feb 2016).
- ↑ Online guide to St. Louis sources in the History and Genealogy Department in St. Louis County Library (accessed 2 February 2016).
- ↑ Genealogists in St. Louis Public Library (accessed 3 February 2016).
- ↑ Genealogy Center Collections in Genealogy Center (accessed 27 February 2015).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 39.