Wimbledon St Mary, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wimbledon St Mary, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Guide to Wimbledon St Mary, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wimbledon St Mary, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Kingston
Registration District Kingston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon, and Shoreham; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

WIMBLEDON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Kingston, W. division of the hundred of Brixton, E. division of Surrey, 7 miles (S. W.) from London.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Wimbledon St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
Indexes 1538-1871 FamilySearch[2] 1594-1876 FamilySearch[3] 1593-1812


1594-1812 TheGenealogist[4] 1594-1840 findmypast[5]
1594-1810 findmypast[6]
    1780-1812 Ancestry[7]    


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474660.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[8]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Wimbledon St Mary Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (15+ entries)


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848)). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. Batches C013442, C013443, P013441, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batches M013441, M013443, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.