Wingate Grange, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wingate Grange, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Wingate Grange, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wingate Grange, Durham
Wingate Grange Holy Trinity Durham.jpg
Wingate Grange Holy Trinity Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Easington
Registration District Easington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WINGATE-GRANGE, a township and ecclesiastical district, in the union of Easington, S. division of Easington ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 1 mile (W. by S.) from Castle-Eden, and 6½ miles (E. S. E.) from Durham. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Additional information: Wingate Grange Holy Trinity was created by 1841 from  Castle Eden, Durham St. James; Kelloe, Durham St. Helen Ancient parishes.

Parts of this parish became part of these parishes: Deaf Hill-cum-Langdale St. Paul (1874); Hutton Henry St. Francis (c. 1925)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Kelloe are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Cassop cum Quarrington 1868-1986 (EP/CQ).
  •  Coxhoe 1868-1982 (EP/Cox).
  •  Thornley 1843-1989 (EP/Tho).
  •  Wheatley Hill 1912-1995 (EP/WH).
  •  Wingate Grange 1841-1989 (EP/WGr).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Wesleyans
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241355.


Poor Law Unions

Easington Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wingate Grange (see Caslte Eden) on GENUKI

Wingate Grange (see Kelloe) on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.