Winster, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Winster, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Winster, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Winster, Derbyshire
Winster St John the Baptist - geograph org uk - 965542.jpg
Winster St John the Baptist - geograph org uk - 965542
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hartington
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

WINSTER, a township-chapelry, with a small decayed town, in Youlgreave parish, Derbyshire. There are also two Methodist chapels.[1]

WINSTER, a market-town andchapelry, in the parish of Youlgrave, union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (W. by N.) from Matlock, and 145 (N. N. W.) from London. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have each a place of worship. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winster parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Winster St John the Baptist (1674) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1658-1860 None None None
FS PR's
1674-1900
  NONE
1681-1912
  NONE
1674-1912
  NONE

Winster St John the Baptist formerly a chapelry of Youlgreave, Derbyshire became a parish in 1866.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D776 has deposited registers Bap 1674-1772, 1752-1900  Mar 1681-1742,1752-1980 Burial 1724-1742,1752-1946 Banns 1754-1783, 1853-1974

Transcript of the earliest year register for 1633-1672 which was missing for many years can be viewed on microfilm at the Derbyshire Record Office.

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1877Mar 1663-1836 Burials 1663-1877 Damaged transcripts for 1813 Bap& Bur 1837-1838,1853-1854, 1865, 1876

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Winster on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Publ. Lindon Edinburgh 1870; Date ccessed: 19 April 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 618-620. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.