Winwick (near Oundle), Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Winwick (near Oundle), Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone; Polebrook
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leightonstone
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Winwick (near Oundle), Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Winwick is a village and a parish, on the western border of Huntingdonshire, adjoining Northamptonshire, 4½ miles south-east from Barnwell station on the Northampton and Peterborough branch of the London Midland and Scottish Railway. There is a Congregational chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Winwick (near Oundle), Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Winwick (near Oundle), Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1812-1864
1813-1875

HUNT

1701-1800
NBI

1701-1800

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Winwick on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.