Wisbech, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Wisbech, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Wisbech, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wisbeach
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Wisbech
Registration District Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wisbech
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office
Wisbech consisted historically of two parishes:
  • St Mary
  • St Peter

Parish History

WISBECH (St. Peter and St. Paul), a sea-port, borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wisbech, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 43 miles (N.) from Cambridge, and 94 (N. by E.) from London. The town is situated on both sides of the river now called the Nene. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Johnsonians, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and Unitarians.[1]

Wisbech St Augustine and Wisbech St Mary are chapelries of Wisbech St Peter and St Paul Ancient Parish in Cambridgeshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wisbech St Peter, Cambridgeshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Wisbech St Peter, Cambridgeshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1600-1635 1600-1635
1600-1635
FS BTs
1636-1714 1636-1714
1636-1714
FS BTs
1715-1730, 1739-1788 1715-1730, 1739-1788
1715-1730, 1739-1788
FS BTs
1731-1738, 1788-1813 1731-1738, 1788-1813
1731-1738, 1788-1813
FS BTs
1813-1828 1813-1828
1813-1828
FS BTs
1829-1842 1829-1843
1829-1842
FS BTs
1843-1853 1844-1853
1841-1853
FS BTs
1854-1862 1854-1862
1853-1862
FS BTs
1863-1869 1863
1863-1869

Wisbech St Mary, Cambridgeshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Wisbech St Mary, Cambridgeshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1600-1812 1600-1811
1600-1811
FS BTs
1813-1867 1813-1840
1813-1843, 1846-1865
Non-Conformist Churches

See Family History Catalogue for Wisbech films containing non-conformist records.

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • General Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quake
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241227.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wisbech on GENUKI

Wisbech St. Augustine on GENUKI

Wisbech St. Mary on GENUKI

Wisbech St. Peter and Paul on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 625-629. Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.